Everest Helicopter Trekking Map

Everest Helicopter Trekking Map

An Everest helicopter trekking map is an essential tool that provides visual guidance on the terrain and various landscapes of the Everest region. Hence, Boundless Adventure has provided the latest, updated, and high-quality route map of Everest helicopter trekking. Having a map is not all; interpreting a map is also crucial. Thus, we made it easy by describing the trekking map of the Everest helicopter.

The map contains two significant features, which you can see on the left side: a legend and an itinerary highlight. By looking through the Legend, you’ll learn the signs and symbols used in a map. As shown in the Legend, the main hiking route is in the orange line. Likewise, the secondary route is depicted with an orange dotted line. Similarly, by looking through the Legend, you can interpret half of the map by yourself.

The map’s itinerary highlight showcases the day-to-day itinerary of the Everest Base Camp Helicopter Tour. It allows you to learn about each day’s destination.

The Starting Point of the Everest Helicopter Trekking Map

As shown on the map above, the journey of the Everest helicopter begins with the flight from Kathmandu to Lukla. After landing at Lukla, you’ll start trekking toward Phakding. As clearly visible while trekking from Lukla to Phakding, there is a sign of a suspension bridge. Thus, crossing a suspension bridge before reaching Phakding from Lukla would be best.

The Ending point

The journey to the Everest helicopter trek ends with flying back from Lukla to Kathmandu. As shown on the itinerary highlight of the map, on the tenth day, you’ll fly back to Kathmandu, and with a flight, you’ll say goodbye to the Everest region, indicating the end of the journey.

Highest Elevation

The highest point shown on the Everest helicopter trek route map is Kalapathar, at 5555m. The map shows an icon of binoculars, indicating the viewpoint on Kalapathar; thus, Kalapathar is the well-known viewpoint of the Everest region and the highest point.


The map includes signs of mountain ranges. Trekkers can also see all the mountain peaks on the map during their journey. Hence, you can see Mount Everest (8848), Lhotse (8501m), Cho Oyu (8201m), Nuptse (7879m), and Mount Pumori (7165m) during your Everest helicopter trek. Also, the route map has included the peaks of Mount Ama Dablam (6312m), Thamserku (6608m), Kangtga (6685m), Mera Peak (6437m) and Island Peak (6189m).

Elevation profile

The trekking map of the Everest helicopter involves the elevation of each area that trekkers get during their journey. The journey began at an elevation of 2850m in Lukla. Then, the elevation decreases as trekkers reach Phakding, as Pahkding lies at 2610m. After Phakding, the elevation continued to increase. From Phakding, the trail goes to Namche Bazaar at 3443m; from Namche, the trail moves to Tengboche at 3860m, then Dingboche at 4410. From Dingboche, the journey moves to Lobuche at 4940m. The ninth day takes you to Everest Base Camp Trek at 5364m, and the tenth day to the highest elevation at 5555m at Kalapathar.

Viewpoint during the journey

The icon of binoculars on the map indicates the viewpoint during the journey. The trekking route map of the Everest helicopter showcases four different viewpoints, among which you’ll get three during your journey. The first viewpoint during your Everest helicopter trekking is Khumjung, at 3790m. You’ll get to Khumjung’s viewpoint on your acclimatization day at Namche Bazaar, your fourth day of journey. The second viewpoint on the journey is at Nagatsang Ri at 5000m. The Nagatsang Ri viewpoint on the seventh day of your acclimatization day at Dingboche. The final viewpoint is at Kalapathat at 5555m on the tenth day before flying back to Kathmandu. However, all viewpoints are in the Sagarmatha National Park.