Everest three passes trek route map

Everest three passes trek route map

Everest three passes trek route map illustrates detailed information about the significant areas’ trails, landmarks, and elevation. On the left-hand side of the map, there are two crucial features, including Legend and Itinerary highlights. Looking at those two features, one can easily navigate the trail themselves.

Brief Itinerary of Everest three passes trek route map.

You can find the day-to-day itinerary on the “itinerary highlight” on the map. As shown there, on day one, the day is for your arrival. On day two, you’ll get to Phakding. You can see a red dot with a sign of the airplane, indicating you’ll have a flight to Lukla airport from Kathmandu airport. After landing in Lukla, you’ll hike to Phakding.

Continuing the journey, trekkers follow the route toward Everest’s three high passes. Trekkers ascend from Phakding and trek through beautiful settlements of Sherpas like Namche Bazaar, where trekkers get one extra day for acclimatization. As shown on the itinerary of the route map of Everest’s three high passes, day five takes trekkers to Tengboche. Day six is a trek to Dingboche, and the following day is another acclimatization day.

After Dingboche, the trail leads to Chukkung, as per the map. From Chukkung, the route goes to Lobuche on the ninth day. During the trek to Lobuche, trekkers ascend their first pass on the journey, Kongma La, at 5535m. Then, the trail goes to Gorakshep on the tenth day and towards EBC on the same day.

After that, trekkers move forward for another pass on the trek, Cho La. Trekkers get to Dzongla on 11 days. Twelve days take you to Thangnang, but with a second pass, Cho la at 5420m. The thirteenth and fourteenth day is a trek to Gokyo and exploration at Gokyo. The fifteenth day leads to Lumde and involves passing the final pass on the trek, Renjo La, at 5360m, as clearly visible on the map.

The journey afterward descended and rested at night in Thame, Monjo, and Lukla villages on the sixteenth, seventeenth, and eighteenth day. Then, on the nineteenth day, you’ll fly back to Kathmandu.

Mountain views

Throughout the trekking journey, trekkers walk through different landscapes. The views of the Mountain range, including Mount Everest (8848 m), Pumori (7165m), Cho Oyu (8188m), and other peaks represented on the route map to Everest’s three high passes, are the major highlights of the trek.

Explain about Glacier

The glacier symbol on the map is visible between Gorakshep and Everest Base Camp. Also, between Thangnag and Gokyo, there is another glacier. On the trail from Gorakshep to Everest Base Camp is Khumbu Glacier, the highest glacier in the world, lying at an elevation of 4900m/ 16100ft. Trekkers must pass through the glacier on the final part of the EBC trail.

Between Thangnang and Gokyo, you’ll navigate through Ngozumba Glacier. The glacier is the longest in Nepal and is below Mount Cho Oyu (8188m). Trekkers should pass through the Ngozumba Glacier to reach Gokto Valley from Thangnang Kharka, as shown on the route map.

First pass: the Kongma la Pass trail map

At 5535m, Kongma La lies above the Dingboche village and the southwest of Mount Everest. It is the first pass trekkers pass through on the Everest three-pass trekking journey. One can see the national flag of Nepal between Lobuche and Chukkung, indicating Kongma La Pass. As visible in the route map, trekkers can enjoy the view of Mount Thamserku, Lhotse, Ama Dablam, Island Peak, and surrounding mountains while passing through Kongma La.

Second pass: Cho La Pass trail map

Cho La pass at 5368m is the second pass on the Everest Three pass journey you’ll navigate through. The pass lies between the village of Dzongla and Thangnang. The Chola Pass is adventurous, and we don’t recommend navigating the trail during heavy rainfall. Also, the pass has the danger of crevasses. Despite its adventures, passing Chola is rewarding, with views of Mount Everest, Lhotse, Nuptse, and the surroundings of the glacial lake.

Last pass: Renjo La Pass trail map

Renjo La pass is the last pass trekkers should navigate through the Everest Three Pass journey after Kongma La and Cho La passes. Renjo La Pass lies at an elevation of 5360m and connects the villages of Gokyo and Lumde. After the pass, trekkers return from the journey as visible on the route map. During the pass, trekkers get stunning views of Everest, Lhotse, Makalu, and other peaks, along with stunning lakes of the Gokyo valley. However, their passes are listed in the Sagarmatha National Park.