Tsum Valley Trek Route Map

Tsum Valley trek route map

Tsum Valley trek route map provides information on trails, landmarks, and elevation, giving trekkers a valuable navigation tool. The Legend and itinerary highlight on the left side is an essential feature of the route map of the Tsum Valley trek.

The Legend is vital for understanding the symbols marked on the map. As the map uses various symbols with different colors and shapes, the Legend helps all the symbols to make them easily understandable among trekkers.

The Legend represents the symbols, including the main and secondary hiking route, driving route, viewpoint, mountain, lake, and suspension bridge. Furthermore, the Legend defines the glacier, pass, checkpost, and monastery symbol. The best trekking season is also there at the bottom of the Legend.

Just below the Legend, the map contains Itinerary highlights. The itinerary highlight is another notable feature of the map that helps trekkers know their day-to-day itinerary and destination.

Brief Itinerary of Tsum Valley trek route map

As per the itinerary shown on the itinerary highlight of the route map of Tsum Valley, day 1 is your arrival in Kathmandu, and day 2 is your preparation day. Thus, your journey to the Tsum Valley trek begins on day 3. However, you’ll have to drive to Soti Khola on the third day from Kathmandu.

As shown on the itinerary highlight, your journey to the trek begins on the fourth day. On the fourth day, you’ll trek to MacchaKhola from Soti Khola. The fifth day takes you to Jagat, passing through Khorlbesi.

Passing a suspension bridge and Philim village through the stunning landscape of the Manaslu region, trekkers get to Lokpa on the sixth day. From Lokpa, there are two routes: the main hiking route that takes you to your destination and the secondary route with a dotted line that takes you to the Manaslu circuit trip. Yet, you’ll continue your journey by taking the main hiking trail and getting to Chumling on the seventh day.

Eight days take you to one of the most prominent areas of the Tsum Valley, Rachen Gompa, where the most significant Buddhist monastery lies. The ninth day takes you to your final destination, Mu Gumpa. Day 10 is your acclimatization as well as exploration day around Mu Gompa. As shown on the route map, a dotted line above Mu Gompa indicates the way to Tibet.

As per the itinerary highlight, from the eleventh day, you’ll start descending and stay overnight at Rachen Gompa for the second time. On the twelfth day, you’ll get to Gumba Lungdhen. You’ll continue your descending journey and stay at Ripchet on the thirteenth day, Philim on the fourteenth day, Khorlabesi on day 15, and the sixteenth day at Soti Khola. The seventh day takes you back to Kathmandu by car.

Views in Tsum Valley trek route map.

Throughout the journey to Tsum Valley, stunning views of snow-capped peaks, ancient monasteries, and unique landscapes surround trekkers. Trekkers get to see views of mountains, including Mount Manaslu (8163m), Manaslu North (7157m), Ngadi Chuli (7893m), Himal Chuli (7193m), and a closer view of Shringi Himal (7187m).

Furthermore, views of ancient monasteries that are significant to Buddhist people living in the region provide a peaceful environment during the trek. Among various Gumpas trekkers pass through during their Tsum Valley trek, Rachen Gompa, Mu Gumpa, and Gumba Lungdhen are prominent ones.

Restricted area Tsum Valley trek route.

As the Tsum Valley trek lies within a restricted area, trekking in the region requires a special Restricted area permit (RAP) permit. On the Tsum Valley trek, the restricted area begins from the village of Jagat; throughout the journey, trekkers trek through the restricted area. Furthermore, the ending point of the restricted area is the same as its starting point, Jagat.